Prizes and Awards

Moynihan Prize

The Moynihan Prize is the Association’s most prestigious scientific award. The prize of £1,000 together with a medal is presented to the author of the best project delivered at the International Surgical Congress. The person reading the paper must be the principal research worker and less than 15 years from graduating. In the case of multiple-author papers, the medal will be presented to the person presenting the paper and the award may be divided between the authors. More information on this prize can be accessed here:

Short Papers of Distinction

The top scoring short papers, as determined by the adjudicators and the Association’s Scientific Committee, will be accepted as Short Papers of Distinction and will be allocated a separate session at the Congress for presentation. The presenting author will be presented with a certificate at the Prize Giving session which will take place on Wednesday 9th May 2019.

John Farndon Prize

The BJS Society has endowed the John Farndon prize of £500 for the best manuscript published in the BJS in the previous calendar year, having been previously presented at an ASGBI meeting. Papers published in the BJS will be subject to the usual system of editorial review. Manuscripts should be submitted online at:

Please indicate clearly on the title page that your paper is being presented at the Association’s 2019 International Surgical Congress in Telford.

Wiley & Sons / BJS Audio Visual Prize

The annual competition for best video has been generously sponsored by the BJS Society and Wiley & Sons Ltd. The first prize winner will receive a cash prize of £300, with £200 for second place and £100 for third place. More information on this prize can be accessed here:

NELA Sponsored Trainee Prize

We are delighted to announce that NELA and ASGBI will be awarding a Trainee prize at the 2019 International Surgical Congress in Telford. This will be for the best submission using your hospital’s NELA data. Particularly favoured will be those which bring about an improvement in care. More information on this prize can be accessed here:

Please note: All Prize Winners are expected to register for at least one day of the Congress to receive their prize.