2018 Prize Winners

We are pleased to announce the 2018 Prize Winners.

Moynihan Prize Winner 2018
The Moynihan Prize, of £1,000 plus a medal, is the Association’s most prestigious scientific award, and is presented to the author of the best short paper delivered in the Congress Moynihan Prize Session.

Laparoscopic Guided Regional Analgesia (LaGRA) reduces post operative pain after laparoscopic cholecystectomy , a randomised, controlled trial.

Miss Doireann Joyce

John Farndon Prize Winner 2018
The John Farndon Prize of £500 endowed by the BJS Society, for the best paper published in the BJS arising from an abstract presented at a previous ASGBI Congress, was awarded to the following paper:

Thirty-day mortality in patients undergoing laparotomy for small bowel obstruction
Mr Oliver Peacock

Wiley/BJS Audio-visual Prizes 2018
The  winners of the 2018 first, second and third prizes, sponsored by the BJS Society and Wiley are:

First place – £300

Mei Ying Chin, Will Gao, Alan Robertson, Mr Naguib, Mr Wayman

Second place – £200

Side-to-side arterioplasty for renal arteries on a donor kidney graft
Albert Fung, Dr. Anand Ghanekar, Dr. Paul Greig, Lucy Hotoyan, Paul Kelly, Dr. Ian McGilvray, Joy Qu, Gordon Tait

Third place – £100

Title: Laparoscopic Placement of Gastric Pacer
Authors: D Nally, C Dunphy, U Hayden, B Ryan, P Ridgway

ASGBI Intercollegiate Examination
The  Association’s Prizes for outstanding performance at the Intercollegiate Examination in General Surgery have been awarded to:

Mr Mark Bignell – May 2016
Ms Aimee di Marco  – May 2017
Mr John Robert O’Neill  – September 2017
Ms Katie Adams – February 2018

Short Papers of Distinction

The era of biomarkers – Can we diagnose colorectal cancer using blood tests?
Chris Neophytou

Novel urinary and blood peptide markers for detection of colorectal cancer‚ early results
Yaseen Rajjoub

Evaluation of the effect of anti-IL6 therapy on early recurrence in colorectal cancer using inflammatory markers and circulating tumour DNA (ctDNA)
Christina Fleming

NELA Prize

Workforce planning based on NELA: More Surgeons or more Acute Abdominal Physicians?Videha Sharma

International Bursaries
The 2018 International Bursaries, for overseas trainees to attend the Congress, were awarded to:

Dr. Muradally Tarmohamed, Tanzania
Sponsor: BJS Society

Dr.Ruwan Nishantha, Sri Lanka
Sponsor: The Surgical Foundation

Dr Mildred Nakazwe, Zambia
Sponsor: Mr Jonathan Pye